Home > Uncategorized > Coming Soon… v0.57

Coming Soon… v0.57

I’ll be releasing the “final” zkanji v0.57 in a few days, but as I have found some bugs in the test version, it won’t be compatible with data saved with v0.57b. (Everyone using v0.55 is safe though.) If you still used that one for serious study, contact me within the next few days, because I won’t be accepting any requests after the next version is out. Though if you used the test version for long-term study or you have any long-term study data in it, that’s already corrupted and probably not worth converting anyway. Don’t say I haven’t warned you!

I have added hiragana/katakana data to the handwriting recognition, so from the next version zkanji will recognize those too. I had to change small parts of the recognizing algorithm, but it should work fine with kanji as always. The only problem I found is that it’s a bit too sensible with hiragana, and might have trouble showing the correct one as the very first candidate.

Another important change is how zkanji handles the case when some careless user put zkanji in the Program Files folder. Since v0.57, zkanji will still try to save the usual data and ini files to the zkanji folder, but if for some reason it can’t do that, it will try to save the data in the officially supported location by MS, which is the first available application data folder of the current user. This way the program can be used by more users with their own data and settings too. I received complaints because of this before, and at the time I refused to do anything. Sorry for that.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. x4m
    January 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    And so ‘a few days’ are turning into a few weeks.=]

  2. January 29, 2011 at 12:22 am

    That happens when I try to set a schedule for myself. 🙂
    Just a little longer now…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

