Home > Releases > v0.573

v0.573

Another update and another fix, because there was a little bug in yesterday’s release. The new file has the same version number. If you have downloaded yesterday’s version, please update with the no-data package. (I wanted to blag about the original release but this one came faster.)

UPDATE: same again… I promise there is nothing else that needs immediate fixing. This wasn’t the first and probably not the last time when I wanted to release something too early, but I will try to be more careful in the future.

Categories: Releases
  1. Dmitry
    March 1, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Hi, old man! Do you remember me – I’m Dmitry (Drex) who helped you testing this tool when you got it started. I’m glad you haven’t given up since then and continue with improvements 🙂 . I’m very interested in checking your recent version (3 years since my last try, yeah). Do your best! Good luck!

  2. March 5, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    >> Do you remember me
    I have some faint memories, but 3 years is a long time. I have made lots of improvements during that time, and will continue to do so.

    • Dmitry
      March 9, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      Yes, you’re right. I have no time to test everything so far, but what I see looks really great! Comfortable kanji searching, compounds recognition, hand writing input… WOW!!! By the way, thanks for giving me an idea about recognition method. I was thinking about making something like that.
      Also… when taking a glance at recent release I’ve felt a strong wish to drag-and-drop kanji from left side into the translation input field 🙂 And only as a second thought it was to use Ctrl-C Ctrl-V…

      Dmitry

  3. Dmitry
    March 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Dmitry :
    compounds recognition

    Sorry, I didn’t mean compounds. I was talking about inflected forms.

  4. March 9, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Drag-and-drop is something that will never happen with zkanji. (I’m saying this now, but I don’t know what will I say tomorrow.) Handling simple drag-and-drop is a bit complicated on Windows that requires 3 or 4 interfaces to be implemented, at least if I want to do it the native way. I have found free and open-source libraries doing it but they were all GPL, and I don’t want to switch licence just to add such a simple functionality. (That’s one reason why I had to write everything in zkanji by myself.)
    There are at least two other ways to show the kanji in the dictionary without having to use the clipboard. One is the right-click menu where you can select “translate”, the other is the red kanji button on the dictionary next to the search input box.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

