Home > Bugs > Bug list, and growing

Bug list, and growing

I’m not the kind of gardener who loves to grow bugs in his little garden, I’d rather smash them until they are not moving anymore. Unfortunately the number of bugs is always increasing as a natural consequence of programming. Here’s a little list of bugs smashed since the last release and how to avoid them: (they were all in the long-term study list)

  • The kanji recognizer window won’t be hidden, even after quitting the test. – No need to avoid this one, just close the window
  • The right-click menu for the handwriting kanji recognizer window gives you options to copy a character or show its information (if it’s a kanji). Unfortunately this happens during a test too, so I will have to disable the menu when testing. – this is just a simple UI bug. Not critical, but not good either.
  • The test window is too small and cannot be sized when starting the test for a second time. – Restart zkanji if you need to test again on the same day. (I admit this “solution” is pretty lame.)
  • When a word is tested twice with different questions, it isn’t always included in readings tests, depending on the settings and the given answers. Sometimes the word is included twice. – No workaround. At least this doesn’t have a negative effect on your test results.
  • The daily long-term study statistics incorrectly handles the count of learned items. Their number is probably much lower than should be.  – This is a bug in the statistics, which is not so critical, but there is no workaround for this one either. Just use the test as always and don’t believe zkanji when it says that you only know 1/3rd of the tested words. The fix will include update to the statistics, but only for the latest test day.
  • If you move a tested item back to the queue (not delete), the readings test data will become corrupted. – Don’t move items back to the queue while you haven’t finished with your daily test. It’s OK if you haven’t started the test yet.

Bug list update: 2011.03.27:

  • Word list had no scrollbars on the “Generate word group from kanji” dialog window.
  • After changing to a different dictionary while in continuous browsing mode with a filter on, the listed words were not matching the set filter.
  • Changing alphabetic ordering in the settings didn’t sort the word list in continuous browsing mode with a filter on.
  • In the long-term study list making change to an item’s priority without other action caused the change to be lost if quitting zkanji.

These are all fixed in the version “coming soon”, and apart from the last one (before the update), none are critical, so don’t worry much about them. I could already release the fixed program because it seems to be working fine now, but I still want to make some changes in the file format as a first step to getting ready for Unicode. You can expect a new release at the end of the week or early next week.

By the way there is also a new feature that makes it worth the wait. (At least for those of us who are using the long-term study list.) It sometimes happens to me that after answering a question with one of the 4 buttons I realize that the answer I have given was wrong. For cases like this there is now a small button in the long term study test window to change your latest answer. It’s a kind of an “undo” feature, though not exactly. Use it wisely because it cannot make up for your lack of concentration during tests.

Features update: I will also add a pause button to the test window. There was already an option to automatically pause the test if you leave it alone for a given time (look it up in the settings), but it won’t hurt if there is also a button for it. Simply closing the test window would work as well (every change saved there, unlike in the old long-term study test), but it doesn’t give the same feeling and the next time you start the test, the previously incorrect answers are asked up first, even if you just saw them a minute ago.

Categories: Bugs
  1. asllearner
    March 26, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I’ll add a bug/feature request or two based on todays playing around with it:
    When you are collecting words:
    If you generate a list and the list is longer than the window area, there is no horizontal or vertical scrollbar.
    I wish I could select/deselect words at this point, rather than having to import them and delete them there.

    I wish I could actually see the the frequency of a word (not kanji, which I can get on the kanji list, I know), not just a symbol, somewhere.

    Speaking of the kanji list, at the bottom there are counters indicating the unicode gakken frequency etc. but these are overlapping, so I cant actually read them. a tool tip would help.

    I wish I could put a range in when doing a search by index.

    I wish I could select multiple and non-contiguous words in the word list in kanji group screen and word group screen. ALso, there seems to be, on my computer, a small area below this word list that seems to be having some kind of screen draw problem. It is showing the image from that last screen I was looking at. It changes if I go back and forth…I will have to see after I reboot if this is a transient problem. If it reoccurs, I will send you a screen grab.

    Perhaps more keyboard shortcuts would help. I just discovered translate kanji…perhaps a ctrl c/v/x when highlighting a word in a word group.

    I wish the dictionary had a forward and back button, and or a drop down list of recently used items. this is especially useful if I am looking at a sample sentence and need to then look up a word int eh sentence, and then maybe another word, and then want to get back to original word.

    I wish I could change the interface/menu font and its font

    I wish double clicking the kana or meaning did something in the word list.

    I wish I could choose what double clicking the kanji did…

    clipboard viewer doesnt seem to be popping up on copy/append unless I am misunderstanding it.

    As you can see, I havent even gotten to the test. I am still trying to make good lists to study…

    anyhow, great job on it. The handwriting recognition is awesome. I like how the stroke thickens…beautiful. Best Ive ever seen.

    smile…asllearner

  2. March 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    1. Scrollbar problem: I see that, thanks.

    2. no delete before import: I will see if it can be done easily, but I won’t do it now if it’s not so easy, at least not yet.

    3. word frequency: this is even less precise and trustworthy than the kanji frequency because of the way it was collected, so it’s not a good idea to show it all the time in my opinion. Still, if you keep your mouse over the frequency symbol it will show you the number in a tool tip.

    4. overlapping: are you using large fonts? and also which OS? I’m not sure if I can fix this easily but I will look into it.

    5. index range: for kanji, right? can be done but I want to release the bugfix version soon so this might not be included right away.

    6. word selection: I’m planning to do this for some time too, but I never get to it as there is always something else to be done… :S

    7. gap under word list: this is probably also because of either the OS or the large font size. But whatever causes it, if it doesn’t appear all the time could you experiment and tell me what steps are necessary for this to show?

    8. shortcuts + word highlighting: which part of the word to copy?

    9. dictionary history controls: There is a drop down list for recently searched items in the dictionary, but as zkanji can search as you type I can only put those words in the history, that end with some user action. Eg. switching away from zkanji, closing the window, etc. I probably don’t add words to this list when another one gets selected in the examples but I will!

    10. interface/menu font: I can’t and won’t do this because the menu font is handled by windows (unless you use Wine on some other OS). Changing labels on the interface would be possible in theory, but this is so much work that I don’t want to do it, because there are hundreds of labels.

    11. double clicking word lists: it opens the “Add to vocabulary” dialog box.

    12. double clicking kanji: for example?

    13. clipboard viewer: you can change this behavior in the settings under the “Tools” tab.

    ——————

    I’m open for negotiation regarding most points where I didn’t say that I won’t or can’t do it. 🙂 I always welcome wish lists, so if you have ideas you can come out with them any time. I might only say yes to 10% of the wishes (unless many people want the other features) but I would like to know your opinion.

    The next release with the bug fixes probably won’t contain anything new, but I want to release something every 2-3 weeks.

  3. factor828
    March 27, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Hello,

    First of all, I would like to say big THANK YOU for this awesome software!! I use it daily and absolutely love it. Looking at download stats, I am shocked to see that so few people seem to make use of it.
    Anyway, I think I have found a small bug and I also a couple of suggestions to consider in the future.

    Bug: when setting priority on the long term study list and closing zKanji down without testing, the last set values seem to reset back to 5. Sorry if it has been mentioned before.

    Suggestion 1: it would be cool if we could check the word from word group in the dictionary by double clicking it on the list instead of right-mouse-click -> translate. For me it would be useful because I like to look at example sentences which I cannot view otherwise.

    Suggestion 2: could you possibly consider giving us an option to view the example sentences during the long term vocab test, e.g. after showing the answer or hidden under a button? Some words have really subtle differences in meaning and I am often not sure whether I am right. It is not oh-so-very important feature; right now I am dealing with the problem by sending such words to a separate word group which I named “ambiguous” and check the examples afterwards so ignore it if such function would require too much work ^^ just please consider such possibility in the future.

    Keep up the good job!

    Cheers,
    Arnold

  4. March 27, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Hi Arnold,

    Thank you for trying zkanji! I’m not advertising this program anywhere just hoping that it will get around eventually, so spread the word! Not having an installer or translation for languages might add to that.

    Bug: I can’t reproduce it, but I will see if I can change anything to make sure the data is saved. UPDATE: Though I still couldn’t reproduce this one, looking at the code I saw that it can be possible so I fixed it.

    1. Currently the double-click in word groups opens the edit word dialog (only for custom user dictionaries), but it is probably not very useful to every user so I will change it.

    2. if you add a dictionary site to zkanji (be it wiktionary or space alc’s eijirou or any other) you can open the currently tested word with it. The sites appear under the options button in the test after showing the answer.
    This is probably not as fast as a built in interface would be but that test window is already so complicated that I just can’t get myself to touch it.

  5. x4m
    March 30, 2011 at 3:18 am

    I’m not sure why, but today i after launching zkanji found all kanji and word groups dissapeared. It’s good that 8 days ago before updating program to 0.575 i made a backup copy, but now it seems that daily backups would be good idea.>< Anyway, i'll try to figure out why it happened…

  6. March 30, 2011 at 5:51 am

    That’s disturbing to say the least. What parts of zkanji do you have data in? For example, do you use the long-term study list? What I can think of right now are: user dictionary and anything associated with it (eg. word edits), word/kanji groups (of course these are obvious now), long-term study, word study groups (not the long-term one), printing

    For situations like this, zkanji makes backups of user files when it starts up in the data folder. Of course this doesn’t help if the corruption occurs when closing the program…

    Almost forgot to ask these things. Do you run zkanji every day, or was this the first time you started it after the update? Do you usually close zkanji or let windows close it when it shuts down? Do you have auto save turned on in the settings?

    • x4m
      March 30, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      I use zkanji every day. Using default ‘english’ dictionary. Auto save is on and set to save every 2 minutes. After finishing work always close program manually . And that reminds me that last time i was playing with study lists (trying out how it works with different questions and study options, rearranging words in ‘manage word list’ window, changing settings and reseting tests multiple times.) cos i don’t usually use this function. And before closing zkanji there was some error messages, too bad i didn’t payed attention to them, cos work was alredy done, and ofc didn’t expected these errors could result in something serious=]

      • x4m
        March 30, 2011 at 7:54 pm

        Forgot to add that i’m using long-term study list too.

  7. factor828
    March 31, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Yup, I can confirm that there seems to be some sort of really bad error connected with the non-long-term study groups. I am not certain yet which factors help to reproduce it 100% of time but it seems to happen when I create a study group, start the test and then immediately close the test using Esc without answering any questions and close zKanji right after that. I made a pic with screen grabs depicting the problem, take a look when you have a moment 🙂

    http://img153.imageshack.us/f/crashnt.jpg/

    BTW It does not depend on the database, I recreated it on a separate instance of zKanji, unpacked in order to recreate the error while avoiding corrupting my own database. The vocab comes from the default English dictionary, no custom work done here. Hope this helps.

    Best wishes,
    Arnold

  8. factor828
    March 31, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Oh, I can also add that I was able to reproduce it on 2 different machines, one running Win Vista, second one running Win 7; I only tested zKanji versions 0537, 0573 and 0575 and in those builds it happens, I don’t know about different ones.

  9. March 31, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    That much was more than enough to fix it. New version coming tomorrow!

    • factor828
      March 31, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      I’m glad I could help ^^ Can’t wait to get my hands on the new release!

      Thanks,
      Arnold

  10. March 31, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks for the help of both of you! This was the fastest bug fixing I’ve ever done. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

