Home > Development, Test releases > Testers needed! Please participate

Testers needed! Please participate

The first TEST version of the Unicode zkanji is finally here!

Let me get straight to the point. I can’t add any new features or fixes to zkanji until this version is finalized, because I had to change a lot of code. so whatever I do, I won’t do it with the old non-Unicode version. That means that even though there might be fixes done eventually, they won’t be released until this Unicode version is fully tested. There are also changes in the user data file formats, so once you moved to this version, there is no way back.

I would like to ask for a favor here. I can’t test zkanji on systems with languages other than my own. It would be very helpful if you could try out the new TEST version on your own machine, regardless of your language. (Be it English or any other.) I have prepared a list of what could break if I did something wrong, but that doesn’t mean that those are the only ones. Please read the readme.txt file (it was actually made to be read) and if you have the time, please try and test the listed points in it.

zkanji Unicode TEST and Updated executable 2. *The second file is executable only, so I leave the first zip here as well with datafiles compiled for the Unicode version. (Update with the .exe from the second zip file after downloading both.)

In case you’ve decided to try out this test version of the program, I would appreciate if you could also report to me if no bugs were found. Otherwise I wouldn’t know.

Thank you for your time!

ไปฅไธŠ!

Categories: Development, Test releases
  1. factor828
    April 14, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Alright, my native language is Polish so that’s what I tested. I performed all the tasks you suggested in the readme, if something is not mentioned then it means that I didn’t encounter any problems. These are the results of my own tests and those from readme file (not all are Unicode-relevant :)) My points are in chronological order, not sorted by level of seriousness ^^’

    – some random error, probably not dependent on the version; screenshot http://img228.imageshack.us/f/randerr1.jpg/ . It does not cause the program to shut down and probably has no bad side effects but I thought I’d mention it anyway.

    – in my custom dictionary double-clicking to edit the definition works for all added words except for the one on top. That one I have to edit by RMB -> edit. In English dictionary the shortcut works for every word without problems (it jumps to the main dictionary)

    – only the first added meaning of a word is shown on the list, if I add additional meanings they can be checked only through the word editor.

    – potential problem -> if I add more than one custom meaning to a word and then delete the first one on top, it removes the word from the list (it seems that even though the button’ label changes from “Delete word” to “Delete meaning” the old function remains)

    – no problems with dictionary searches, although it is not possible to use the OS IME ^^ this behavior is probably expected, right?

    – another random error: after zKanji was minimized to tray and I double clicked to show the full screen version, it showed the following error http://img846.imageshack.us/f/randerr2.jpg/ and it went full screen in multiple windows mode. I haven’t been able to recreate this error so it must be rather minor.

    – I cannot seem to be able to display the clipboard viewer (never used it before, how is it supposed to work?)

    – Serious problem -> I added example words from kanji to a fresh long term study list. I did a part of the long term study test, then paused it and chose to quit the test. I was greeted with the following error: http://img854.imageshack.us/f/longterm1.jpg/ . Clicking OK does not kill
    the process in the task manager so I had to kill it manually. After rebooting zKanji the long term study list was empty which means that it lost not only the whole study data but also the info about last added words.
    Then I tried a different approach – I first added the words to the study list and then closed zKanji. No problems.After that I restarted zKanji and started the test, paused and quit – no problems. So I turned zKanji off and on again, started the test, paused, quit – error appeared again. Fortunately it did not delete
    any data this time (I only lost the results of the test in progress before the error) but I would be afraid of potential data corruption in the future (the corruption may not be noticeable immediately).

    Sorry I don’t have any multiple-day-test results, I only started testing this release about an hour ago ^^’

    Hope this helps!
    Arnold

  2. April 15, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Thanks for trying the program, I appreciate it!

    I have fixed the first error and I would like to fix the others too, but I can’t reproduce most of them.

    From your description I gathered, that when you say that you click on a word or that a word is in the list, then it’s about the word group at the top part of the program window, and not the dictionary at the bottom. You can check if a word is still in the dictionary if you look it up, or if you select the browse mode and scroll to it.

    For example, in the word list the different meanings of a word are added separately. If only one is added there, then you won’t see any of the others. When you remove the meaning for a word that is in the word list, it’s only natural that it will be removed from there, even though the other meanings remain in the dictionary.

    Of course I might have misunderstood what you said. In that case, could you be a bit more specific, which part of the window you are using, is it the custom made dictionary or the English one etc. (Well, it is not possible to remove from the English dictionary so that one is out of the question of course :))

    Since the last few versions, it is enough to single-click on the zkanji icon in the tray to make it reappear. I can’t reproduce that bug either, so let’s hope it won’t cause anyone any trouble.

    Yes, the IME doesn’t work when searching in the dictionary. I have no way to prevent the IME to convert kana to kanji, and in some cases that would be necessary. (For example during a test.) I’m still thinking about making a new kind of edit box that can use the IME, and keep the old one for those parts where kanji is forbidden.

    You can open the clipboard viewer from the “Tools” menu. There is a “Show clipboard” menu item. Another way is to right-click on a word or kanji and “Append” it to the clipboard. If the setting for it is set to the default (in the “Tools” tab of the settings window) then the clipboard window should appear.

    I will test the long-term study list with a fresh list after deleting the test data files tomorrow.

  3. factor828
    April 15, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Hey, sorry for being ambiguous. I’ve made a couple of pics to illustrate the problems which I tried to describe in my 1st post (one picture is worth 1000 words right?^^)
    http://img405.imageshack.us/f/52465254.jpg/
    http://img199.imageshack.us/f/34557548.jpg/
    I know how to access clipboard editor but when I click “Show clipboard” nothing happens so maybe I don’t understand this function ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. April 15, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I see what you mean. I think the problem is my inconsistent use of terms and not a bug. I use “word list” for anything that is a list of words on screen. For example, the word list on the top-right part is the word list of a word group. Basically, a word group is just a list of words you can collect, so I sometimes mix these terms. I will try to call this “word group” and only that. The dictionary however is not just those words in the word group. Have you checked, after deleting a definition, that the other definitions are not in the dictionary any more? Just do a dictionary search when you have removed a single definition and not the whole word. (You will have to switch the language of the dictionary separately!)

    I still can’t reproduce the other bug of double-clicking on the topmost word in the word group, but that’s just how computers are… I will try to find the bug in the code somehow anyway. Thanks for the help again!

  5. factor828
    April 15, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Aaah I see, the search does show the remaining results! Sorry for confusion, it is the first time I’ve used this function so I misunderstood how it was supposed to work ^^; so yeah, scratch that. If I find anything else I’ll post immediately but from what I’ve seen it seems like a well done unicode port, no problems with this.
    If you need any further testing when it comes to the long term study access violation, let me know!

    Good luck,
    Arnold

  6. April 16, 2011 at 3:50 am

    I’m trying to reproduce the error in the long-term study list, but it doesn’t want to show up. I’ll keep trying but this one seems to be tough as well. Once the bugs are found (and no newer ones turn up) then I will probably release this version. But it’s going to take some time if the bug hides well.

  7. factor828
    April 16, 2011 at 10:53 am

    This type of error is kinda hard to decribe or show on pictures so… I’ve made a video. Or, to be more precise, 2 videos. In the first one I reproduce the access violation on a fresh instance of zKanji,
    http://cid-1f9756c6c9da8f01.office.live.com/self.aspx/JWschA/20110416_1015_38.avi
    in the second one I have a ready-made long term study list but nothing has been studied yet.
    http://cid-1f9756c6c9da8f01.office.live.com/self.aspx/JWschA/20110416_1021_10.avi
    I did not manage to reproduce it on a list that has been studied for some time, so I think that this concerns mainly fresh long term study lists ๐Ÿ™‚ It may also have something to do with the new “pause” function introduced back in 0577 – I couldn’t notice this error on that version as I already have a pretty mature study list AND I also try to avoid not finishing my whole study session at once ๐Ÿ™‚ Or maybe it’s just that I have a really good luck (if you could call it that) encountering all those access violations ^^; Hope that’s helpful!

    Cheers,
    Arnold

    • factor828
      April 16, 2011 at 10:55 am

      I see that the links got messed up (Microsoft has a really funny way of parsing those links on their server), please copy the whole address.

  8. April 16, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I have fixed a bug in the long term study list that has to do with the correction button on the test window. The bug corrupted memory so it could just as well cause any kind of error that appears differently on different machines. I will upload this version later today, could you test if it does the same thing? (I will post here once it’s uploaded)

  9. April 16, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I have added the fixed version to the post above. Please download that file and overwrite the old test exe with the one in it. Hopefully this ugly data corrupting bug will go away.

  10. factor828
    April 16, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    I get a 404 file not found when I try to download the updated exe, did you move it?

  11. April 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I didn’t but it seems SourceForge removed it for some reason. I have uploaded it again, let’s hope it stays this time…

  12. factor828
    April 16, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    I managed to grab it this time, thanks:)
    Unfortunately, when I do the exact steps depicted in my videos I still encounter the access violation ๐Ÿ˜ฆ sorry to be the bearer of bad news all the time… maybe it is just my laptop, I will try to recreate it on my desktop pc when I get back to my hometown but I won’t be able to do it sooner than Thursday next week. Anyway, it seems that you have to take very specific steps to encounter it so it should not be much of a problem for ordinary users ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. April 16, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    It must be some memory bug I haven’t fixed yet. I don’t think it’s caused by your laptop if other programs work without extra errors. I should take responsibility for my own bug now and stomp on it. You have done a lot already, thank you! (I will post another test once I have fixed something.)

  14. April 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Could you tell me what is your setting for the readings test? “Tested readings” and the “Readings in…”, both on the settings window’s “Long-term study” tab.

    Edit: It would be even better if you could send a screenshot of the “Long-term study” page in the settings.

  15. factor828
    April 17, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I left those settings on default as I only use this version for bug-hunting. However, now that you mentioned it I did a small test whose results I found surprising.
    First, I decided to recreate the bug on version 0.577. I left my own custom settings but deleted all my learning data and word lists by deleting my data from data folder (I only left the dictionary and examples files) so except my own settings it was like a fresh copy. Comparison of my settings between 0.577 and 0.59 you can find here: http://img861.imageshack.us/i/compu.jpg/ (sorry for mistake in version number – 0.579 instead of 0.59). I did all the steps on 0.577 the same way as pictured on my earlier videos. Results – NO BUG. After pausing and clicking Quit I simply got a question whether I’d like to test readings, no problems whatsoever.

    THEN I copied the .ini file with my settings from v0.577 to a fresh copy of 0.59. Results – access violation.

    Then I tried to recreate the bug on 0.577 again, this time using a totally fresh copy (no user data and no custom settings). Results – no bug!

    To sum up – on 0.577 I cannot recreate the bug no matter which settings I use. On 0.59 the bug happens even using the exact settings from 0.577.
    I think you are on a right track, it looks like something went terribly wrong with the readings test.

  16. April 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    The same error occurs for me if I don’t run the program from the debugger… ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  17. factor828
    April 17, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    BTW It turns out that it doesn’t matter whether you pause and quit or finish the whole session, the problem occurs right after the test ends (no matter whether you force the end or you finish you session). Terribly sorry that I did not notice it before! >< That's because I was so focused on finding the factors involved that I eventually did not finish any long term study session properly… ใ—ใพใฃใŸ๏ผ
    BTW^2 I just checked whether turning readings test off helps in any way. Unfortunately it doesn't so now I'm even more baffled ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  18. April 18, 2011 at 2:40 am

    I have fixed something entirely unrelated and the bug doesn’t show up anymore. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I will upload another test executable tomorrow and post a comment when it’s done.

  19. April 18, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I have replaced the exe only version with the new one in the post. Hopefully this will be the last one to try.

  20. factor828
    April 18, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    I gave it a spin, and NO ERROR this time! ใ‚„ใฃใŸ๏ผ๏ผพ๏ผพใŠ็–ฒใ‚Œๆง˜ใญ๏ผ

  21. April 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I still have to work on some things before I can release the final program, but with this fixed the difficulties are finally over! ๆ‰‹ไผใฃใฆใใ‚Œใฆใ‚ใ‚ŠใŒใจใ†ใ”ใ–ใ„ใพใ™๏ผ

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

