Home > Rant > Our world is scary!

Our world is scary!

Or at least how some stuff works online. In the beginning I started writing zkanji for myself, but I thought that it would be fun to share it with others as well. It’s only natural for me to be curious about who uses the program, right? So I entered “zkanji” in a search engine and checked out which download sites and blogs found it important enough to mention my work. To be honest, I didn’t even think originally that download sites would pick the program up. The exact reason why I find the online world scary is the discovery that sites either automatically or with human help seem to take whatever was shared on other sites for free, even stealing from each other, and publish it themselves. With incorrect information on top of that. (For example many download sites give you that zkanji is GPLed, when it couldn’t be further from the truth.) I of course don’t mind that zkanji is popularized on many sites and that probably more people will get to know about it this way, but this kind of exposure is scary. It almost feels like I have some kind of responsibility!

The latest discovery that made me write these few short paragraphs came directly from our friendly SourceForge, that hosts zkanji for free. I was innocently browsing search results when I found, that sourceforge.jp now has an automatically(?) created project page for the program, with an automatic translation to Japanese: http://en.sourceforge.jp/projects/sfnet_zkanji/ Scary! The scariest thing in these automatic systems is that I feel like I’m losing my grip on zkanji. Once it’s out there, it’s already late for me to do anything. At the time of writing this entry, even sourceforge.jp doesn’t have the latest version, and I’m afraid that once I change the project information at the original site, it won’t be updated anywhere else. At least sourceforge.jp (unlike many other sites) allows modifications. I could for example write my own Japanese description if I were confident enough in my Japanese knowledge. I could probably write something comprehensible, but being a perfectionist I don’t feel like it would be good enough.

Just as a side note, I prefer zkanji to be mentioned on blogs rather than on sharing sites, because blogs are (mostly) written by real people. This is not a request, though I’m always grateful when it happens.

Categories: Rant
  1. Funbit
    May 8, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    That’s true.. autogenerated sites makes a big dump from the internet.. But I hope that in near future bloggers will start to write about zKanji more than autogenerated download portals 🙂 Because it becomes more and more modernized and sophisticated!

    (btw, for those who don’t know yet, I wrote a zKanji tutorial and created Japanese-Russian dictionary for zKanji for Russian people: http://funbit.livejournal.com/207350.html)

  2. May 9, 2011 at 1:05 am

    I can’t thank you enough for that Russian tutorial! 🙂

    Hopefully I will also have time to make translations possible now that the program itself is working in Unicode.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

