Home > Rant > Coming up with a name

Coming up with a name

When I started writing zkanji, I didn’t think much about how to call it. I could have probably picked a name that describes the program better or rings better, but once I started thinking about it, I decided it just doesn’t worth the effort. Just call it something simple as a working title, and change it on the way. That’s how zkanji was born. End of story.

This is actually not what I wanted to write about, but that won’t be much longer either. I have noticed, that my use of the name is so loose. At least the capitalization. I like to refer to zkanji with lowercase letters, and either write the same way when I can’t color the first letter red, or make it uppercase. On the other hand, in the program’s caption bar it’s written as ZKanji, and in the dictionary stats window it’s Zkanji. This is probably because when I was writing those, I still haven’t developed the habit of writing it full lowercase.

So from now on, if you can’t decide how to write the name of the program, just write “zkanji”. (Anyone who copies the quotation marks as well is very smart.)

Categories: Rant Tags:
  1. me
    June 8, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Is the “z” in “zKanji” pronounced “zed” (the British way) or “zee” (the American way)?

    • June 8, 2011 at 10:01 pm

      I always forget to use the reply link, so I’m doing it now.

  2. June 8, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Was it intentional that you wrote zkanji with a capital K? :p

    I never thought about the pronunciation of “z” because my native language is not English. I don’t know. Which sounds better? Or just say it in Japanese and make it zeddo kanji! 😀

  3. x4m
    June 9, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Now when you pointed it out i also started to think where the heck i picked up that ‘zKanji’. And i believe it probably must be because of this: http://www.studyjapanese.org/content/view/240/111/

    • June 9, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      At least nobody ever wrote ZKANJI… till now…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

