Home > Development > Some post title

Some post title

After spending a few months reading Japanese light novels, I have decided to spend some time on zkanji as well. To tell the truth, I was slacking off lately because the plan to create a list of all JLPT words isn’t a technical question, but rather a question of willpower. I can’t make a program that does this automatically, or at least not one that can do it without human interaction. There is not a single list out there that would have the words in exactly the same form as in the dictionary database, even if they were based off of it. Let’s see what will I have to do in order to create the perfect database.

First of all I’ll have to add each word into a word group. I can probably write a program that does this, but there is nothing that could automatically do what follows. (There will be a few hundred, or even a thousand words that won’t be found by that program, but don’t let such details stop us here.) When all words are in groups (separated by JLPT level) the next step is to go over them and check their meanings. If you look at the words in zkanji, you will see that there are many words with complicated definitions, or so many meanings that nobody could memorize. Because online JLPT lists have words listed with a simplified meaning, I can use that, but I will still have to check every word as there can be errors. There might only be a dozen or less, but I will have to go over every single word to discover them.

Doesn’t sound hard? Not even with 10000 words? Maybe the only reason why I haven’t started doing this is exactly because it sounds hard and not because it is, but I’m already weary just by thinking about it.

Before I forget, I wanted to release the current state of zkanji as v0.591. There might not be huge changes in it, but it’s good to stay up to date with the latest version I’m using for a month now, right?

Categories: Development
  1. Wineuser
    July 19, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    When will we see 0.591? I’m tired of VM, want zkanji work in wine, like it used to do..

    • July 27, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Sorry for the delay. There’s a bug I want to fix before I release the next version. If I can do it fast I will release v0.591 before the end of today, but otherwise I won’t have time to work on zkanji for a few days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

