Home > JLPT, N3 list, Plans, Polls > still JLPT words

still JLPT words

I have reached the decision that I’ll either not have an N3 list of words and kanji (there are no reliable sources, those that are free are made up of guesses that are too wild for my taste), or I’ll make my own list based on kanji/word frequency data and my own wild guesses (=experience with the language, though only through the internet, TV and novels).

There is a slight problem with frequency data. It was based on frequency of words in newspapers, ignoring general usage (which is probably way too difficult to measure). Though that might be an advantage regarding the JLPT.

UPDATE: I don’t believe that the results would change drastically, so this poll is closed! If you missed the voting but would still like to tell your thoughts about the question, please write a comment.

Categories: JLPT, N3 list, Plans, Polls Tags: ,
  1. Funbit
    September 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I voted for “Use frequency data and your own experience” option. The frequency level which zKanji uses is pretty accurate. So I think, if you plus to it your own opinion – you’ll end up with a good N3 list 🙂

  2. September 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Thanks for the vote! I also think that the words’ frequencies are useful in dictionary searches, and I guess that when they make the JLPT tests, they consider what would appear in newspapers anyway. But I can’t see into the heads of those creating the tests.

  3. merkwuerdigich
    September 27, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I agree with Funbit, second option seems to be the best way to do it.

  4. September 28, 2011 at 12:44 am

    Thanks! For a while it seemed most people share that opinion, but the current standing is less clear. I would like to read the reasoning of those who select the last option. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

