Home > Rant > G@@gle hate mail

G@@gle hate mail

Disclaimer: This is just a short rant to vent my frustration.

I don’t know what is it that they eat at G@@gle, but they are making their search service worse and worse. Or is it just me?

A few days ago I noticed, that they removed the “advanced  search” link from the top of the search window. I understand that people run away screaming whenever they see the word “advanced”, but why do they want to prevent some others like me to use those settings? They are not even that advanced… If that name was so scary, rename it to “additional settings” or something. (The link can be found at the bottom of the page now.) The only thing I use those “advanced” settings for is to change the language to Japanese whenever my full kanji search results in Chinese pages only. I know that I could simply tick the checkbox for Japanese in the general search settings, which get saved in a cookie, but even if English is ticked as well, most results come up in Japanese for non Japanese search text too. I love the language, but I still understand English faster, when I need to look up something about programming.

The developers at G@@gle took some pill recently again, when they decided, that the + in front of search keywords is evil. Try searching for a word with a + in front of it, and see what it tells you:

The + operator has been replaced.
To search for an exact word or phrase, use double quotation marks

Thanks. Well, as for me, I used + for telling the search engine to include that word in every result, and don’t give me junk without it, and not “to search for an exact word or phrase”. I’ve used “double quotation marks” for that even till now.

So where can I send G@@gle hate mail?

Categories: Rant Tags:
  1. Funbit
    October 30, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Yea, I totally agree. Also, I heard that they are going to kill “http://www.google.com/codesearch” service as well.. Which worth sending another “hate mail” 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

