Home > Plans > Back soon (probably)

Back soon (probably)

That’s not official at all. But I want to get back here on the blog before I resume my work on zkanji. The last changes (not in the released versions yet) were a “bit” complicated and I need to re-learn how those parts work before I can continue. So I decided to post a series here in the blog where I write about the more technical side of the program’s data handling. I hope that this way I will get back to business sooner after I understand my own code again. …I have to understand what’s going on if I want to do something. As things stand now, I stopped in the middle of an important change because it was annoying to do. But this way I can’t fix bugs that bother me and can’t change things I really wanted for some time now.

I haven’t decided on a format of the series but I might start from general things, like what files belong to the dictionary and user data in the release, how that will change and why, how that works in general. Then get into the details and the technicalities, and what needs to be done in order for me to continue later.

Categories: Plans
  1. Funbit
    December 2, 2012 at 1:50 am

    Glad to hear you! Looking forward to reading the series 🙂

    • December 13, 2012 at 7:55 am

      The oh so great winapi is preventing me in some other project to get back to zkanji, but I’ll try to post the first in this mini series on the weekend.

  2. deafchef
    December 13, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Hey! First, let me thank you for zKanji — it really is amazing, I look forward to reading your mini-dev-series. Second, in that vein, could I ask about keyfetching? It seems that you fetch keycodes instead of character values, which makes it impossible to enter words if you’re using a non-qwerty layout (like me). Is there anything I can do or ask you to do about that? Pretty please?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

