Home > Releases > zkanji v0.73 released!

zkanji v0.73 released!

I usually post the changes log for releases, but the list is so long now, it would distract us from this happy occasion.

Testers of v0.719, please read the previous entry. It contains important information.

Categories: Releases
  1. Akanao hitori
    June 18, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    YAY! Great Job! I downloaded and updated the dictionary. By the way, about the example sentences on it is updated or still the same?

    • June 18, 2013 at 11:48 pm

      The example sentences data is new.

  2. Fujiri
    June 19, 2013 at 11:45 am

    In “Kanji Information and Stroke Diagram” I click on something from “Similar Kanji”, “Parts” or “Part of” sections, after that when I want to go back and simply use “Back” button it shows almost blank window.

    • 空悲男・一人
      June 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm

      Yes, I just checked it now. The ‘Back’ (Show previous kanji) don’t show any.

      • 空悲男・一人
        June 19, 2013 at 12:57 pm

        But if you use the dropdown arrow, it will show the previous kanji though.

    • June 19, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      Thanks for reporting this. I will fix it right away. I’ll wait a few days in case some other problems pop up, then upload it as a fix only release.

  3. Funbit
    June 19, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Yay! Thanks for the hard work, the new version looks great!

    • June 19, 2013 at 11:42 pm

      Just like all the previous versions! 😀

  4. Fujiri
    June 20, 2013 at 8:56 am

    空悲男・一人 :
    But if you use the dropdown arrow, it will show the previous kanji though.

    Yeah I know, it’s just that “Back” button is faster ^^

  5. Silty
    June 28, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    Thank you very much – this is, by far, the best kanji learning software for English-speakers that I have ever seen. I’ve been using it on and off, and have memorized a few hundred or so kanji plus associated words in under a year. I plan to keep doing so until I am comfortable with using a Japanese dictionary. The more kanji I know, the easier it gets.

    I love many things about it, such as the open source, the sophisticated filtering and searching system, the animated stroke order, and the built-in dictionary. All of my gripes with it are very minor. I am very happy to hear that development is ongoing.

    I’m a bit depressed how few people know about this program, but it’s one of the things I bring up in a conversation about learning Japanese. Hopefully, it will get more popular over time, like many good programs.

    • June 29, 2013 at 3:39 pm

      Thanks, it’s always good to hear when someone finds zkanji useful. I don’t know how many people uses it because the statistics on SF is not very reliable. When I first uploaded the program I didn’t expect even a hundred users, but it seems the number is rather in the thousands. I don’t know whether that’s too little or not.

      If you don’t mind, could you share your gripes with the program? I might not accept all feature requests, but if there is anything which is easy to implement and useful for others as well I want to do it. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

