Home > Releases > zkanji v0.731 released!

zkanji v0.731 released!

July 17, 2013

After the reports of several bugs in the previous version of the program, I decided to release a new version early, so here comes zkanji v0.731. It does not include anything incredibly new, just fixes the reported bugs. If you are a user of v0.73, don’t get the main link on the download page. Instead try the link after the part that says “ATTENTION” on the download page. The main download link is for users of v0.717.

The full changes list:

  • Updated the word study group creation window.
  • Added a kanji handwriting input box for typing kanji in the word study group test.
  • Fields are shown for all meanings of a word in the dictionary. Previously the field was only indicated for the meanings if they differed from the field of the previous meaning.
  • Fixed: critical bug caused data corruption and program crash after updating to v0.73 from an older version, when the long-term study contained words previously not found in the updated dictionary.
  • Fixed: the “back” button on the kanji information window always cleared the displayed kanji, instead of showing the previous kanji or element.
  • Fixed: deleting the last meaning in the word editor dialog caused an exception which prevented the window and the program to close.
  • Fixed: in the dictionary update conflict manager dialog, the window wasn’t painted correctly when removing words not found in the new dictionary and showing the text for the removal.
  • Fixed: in the popup dictionary the non-Japanese search text was not selected when the dictionary was shown.
  • Fixed: data corruption when answering in the long-term study list, if only a single element of the word was added to the list.
  • Fixed: allowing to check the minus checkbox for each item in the word review window after a round of gradual inclusion. This caused the test to never finish in the next round, asking the same item endlessly. Now at least 3 items must not be skipped from the next round.
Categories: Releases
  1. Ricardo
    August 7, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    Hi Sólyom!

    Thank you for your continued work on this brilliant program! 🙂

    I’ve been using zKanji for some years now, but I was using Anki for flashcards. One day I decided to give the zKanji learning system a try, but it was incredibly confusing! 😦

    I created “word groups”, but I can’t understand the differences from “normal” and “study” groups, not to mention what is the “Long-term study list”. The only feature I feel is missing from zKanji is a help system (even a help page in HTML on the site would be welcome).

    If you already have a good blog post, webpage, tutorial or any information about the zKanji studying features, please let me know.

    Thanks again! 🙂

    • August 8, 2013 at 4:42 am

      Hi!

      Study groups are created from word groups. Once it’s created, you can test the words in it. Unlike the long-term study, which is similar to how Anki works, the word study group is better for a single occasion. For example when you want to learn something fast for the next day, and not for the long term.

      I would love to have a nice tutorial for zkanji, but someone has to write it. If I have the time I rather add new features, though lately I’m working on other projects as well. If anyone is willing to write some tutorial, I will link to it from the zkanji’s web site and post about it on this blog as well.

  2. sanphich4nnel
    August 8, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    This is a really cool, comprehensive program! Excellent detail! I did have one question: I’m trying to find the section where I can look for the Kanji by Radical Position. Where is that located exactly? Thanks and I’m surprised this program hasn’t gotten more attention! – JD

    • August 9, 2013 at 6:09 am

      You can find it in the radicals kanji filter, called “classical 2” (the tab at the top of the radicals window). Make sure the “group” button is not toggled

      I guess those programs get attention whose authors are socially active on popular sites.

      • sanphich4nnel
        August 9, 2013 at 11:45 am

        I will mess with the features of the program. It is REALLY extensive! I will be debuting a new site in about a week’s time and I wanted to highlight programs like yours that have tons of information, but won’t be too hard to dive into and figure out. I’m with Ricardo on hoping that a “help” section or maybe even a tutorial/FAQs is made up for ZKanji. Could I propose an idea for your consideration? What if you could somehow consolidate the massive amounts of information into another feature of ZKanji or maybe even a separate program that focuses solely on the 7 main radical/classifier areas? The pure emphasis of simplicity and use of:

        – Hen (Left)
        – Tsukuri (Right)
        – Kanmuri (Top)
        – Ashi (Bottom)
        – Tare (Top Left)
        – Nyou (Bottom Left)
        – Kamae (Surrounding)

        the program’s primary function would be a search type feature. Let’s say someone is brand new to learning Kanji, they learn about Radicals (composed of 214 Classifiers), and the 7 areas where these can fall in. The program itself would obviously be purely functional as it’s key appeal is the ability to find most any kanji they don’t recognize without ANY other knowledge but the radical’s position. Hope that made some sense. I’ve been looking online and I have yet to find a program/app that has delivered that ease of use. I truly believe you are fully capable of this feat considering the work and detail you’ve put into the ZKanji program. I will be posting again to this blog very soon. I am very interested in highlighting your program/app as it is extremely intelligent and well constructed. It is like the encyclopedia of Kanji programs! In the same vein as Tae Kim’s Guide to Japanese is the encyclopedia of the Japanese language.

        I hope you consider my appreciation of your hard, diligent work and my request for your approval to highlight your program on my new site. I’m positive many others will love it as well. =]
        – JD

        P.S. Once the site goes live, I will share the web address. Thanks again!

    • August 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm

      I’m yet to meet someone who only knows a very few kanji but learned all radicals and their position names. But in that case, why wouldn’t the “classical 2” radical search be enough for them? You can even type the radical names. Their name indicates their position. Why do you think it is inconvenient?

  3. Fujiri
    September 13, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I love your program, it helps me a lot to prepare for JLPT.
    I’d like to ask, is there some way to generate a list of vocabulary/kanji from a certain level of JLPT? It would be great.

    • September 14, 2013 at 7:23 am

      That would be an interesting feature!

    • September 14, 2013 at 6:39 pm

      At the moment it is not possible to automatically make a group of words for a given JLPT level. You can select JLPT for sorting the kanji in the kanji list and then add them to a group though.

      It is a good idea to learn many more words, not just those that are marked with a JLPT level. I don’t know how useful the old lists are since they changed the test in 2010, and haven’t released an official list of words and kanji for it. Don’t take this as an excuse for having no way to generate word lists for the JLPT. I just haven’t added it yet, but I plan to.

      • Fujiri
        September 16, 2013 at 10:16 am

        Yeah, I’m using the filtering feature, it’s very useful. I’m also learning other words not just the ones from JLPT lists.

        I’m just looking for a list which I can print and then tick what I have already learnt and maybe revise when I’m not on PC 🙂 I know there are some JLPT lists on the internet but there is always something I don’t like about them or there are mistakes inem so it would be awesome to have a list from zkanji.

        And I’m glad to hear that you’re planning this. 🙂 Thanks

  4. Fujiri
    October 23, 2013 at 10:31 am

    When I open Kanji Information and Stroke Order Diagram and click on offered KUN readings everything is alright and in dictionary section are shown words starting by that reading but when I click on ON reading, under the Diagram shows up a window saying “Cannot focus a disabled or invisible window.” and I from that point I can’t do anything with the program and have to close it by force.

  5. Fujiri
    October 23, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Also in Long-term Study List at Last Tested, the Easy column is the only one that cannot be lessen.

    • Fujiri
      October 23, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      Oh, sorry it’s also ! column but that is small enough. Easy column is quite wide for only a dot or what is there, I don’t remeber it well as I don’t use it so much lately.

  6. Fujiri
    November 10, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    And if I have the same kanji in two (or more) different kanji groups, it would be great if they shared the coloured lines when the vocabulary with that kanji is added to long-term study list.
    I hope it’s understandable.

  7. Nelson Romano Neto
    January 6, 2014 at 12:38 am

    Olá amigo desenvolvedor do ZKanji.

    Espero que você chegue a ler este comentário. Sinto muito por não saber inglês. Sou brasileiro e estudo a língua japonesa desde criança. Quero primeiramente parabenizá-lo por este projeto que é na verdade muito bem pensado. Faço uso dele diariamente desde quando foi disponibilizada sua primeira versão para download e posso dizer que acompanhei diretamente a evolução que o ZKanji apresentou desde então. Como usuário assíduo dessa ferramenta percebi que esta seria muito mais útil se fossem acrescentados dois recursos. O primeiro seria a entrada de expressões, pois elas só podem ser visualizadas, portanto não se pode alterar o banco de dados das expressões. O outro seria poder exportar os dicionários e lista de Kanji não só para aquele formato específico do zkanji mas para outros formatos também como pdf ou arquivo do Excel, em planilha. Como você já me disse uma vez (talvez nem se lembre…) eu não te pago um salário mensal por isso você não me deve nenhum serviço. Concordo com isso que disse. Mas isto o que estou dizendo não quero que enxergue como um pedido, mas como uma sugestão de melhora para o ZKanji que já é bom, mas não perfeito, como nenhum software pode ser. Estou estudando desenvolvimento de software mas estou apenas no começo do curso portanto ainda não consigo desenvolver um software sozinho. Se já estivesse avançado tentaria mexer código fonte do ZKanji eu mesmo para acrescentar esses recursos, ou então desenvolver meu próprio software semelhante ao seu… Quem sabe um dia…
    Mas de qualquer forma parabéns novamente, e não tornarei mais a incomodá-lo com as minhas… sugestões.

  8. Megu
    January 23, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Hi,
    I am not sure if it’s supposed to look like this, but I haven’t used zkanji for a couple of months for studying, so now when I’m preparing for my exam I noticed that in the newest version there is a change, that is completly ruining the way I used to work with this program. Namely – during my whole 5 years of studies at japanology I always used to only revise the words with a simple study option (long-term study never worked for me as it didn’t let me simply revise all words from my list at one take). it really worked great for me – there was only a meaning of the word shown and I typed kana into the box. Unfortunately there is no such option now – I can only type kana when meaning and KANJI is displayed during the test, What’s the point of showing me kanji if I want to revise the whole word/expression? Kanji is an obvious hint and spoils everything. I hove no idea how I’m going to study for my exam now, I’ve got so used to this software :/
    Or maybe I’m just stupid and there still is an option of disabling the kanji from showing during the study and I just simply cannot find it? If not, please make it go back to the way it used to be in the previous version!

    • Megu
      January 23, 2014 at 7:59 pm

      After reading my previous comment I thought that it was a little messy, so I wanted to clarify what I meant – in study options there is no “Type the answer for kana” as an input option for “both kana + kanji” question.

  9. Psygorn
    February 5, 2014 at 7:42 am

    Amazing Program
    Add an option to command line arguments or environment variables to set the user data folder ONEGAISHIMASU!
    example
    >zkanji –data=C:\MyDocuments\my_zkanji_data_folder
    or
    SET ZKANJI_USER_DIR=C:\MyDocuments\my_zkanji_data_folder
    >zkanji

  10. Fadhilkwan
    March 23, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    Hello… Is this site still updating?

    • March 23, 2014 at 6:31 pm

      Just when the program does. But I’m not spending time on it lately.

      • Fadhilkwan
        March 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

        So….. It means still no updates yet for zkanji ?
        Just asking ._.v

  11. Fujiri
    May 19, 2014 at 10:10 am

    When testing, if you enter first kanji or kana and then want Hint that kanji/kana is deleted. If you have more of it in the box only the last one is deleted.

  12. windows 8 user
    September 16, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    z kanji closes when i start the test (windows 8)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
