Home > Notices > Long “break”

Long “break”

You might have noticed that there are no new updates for quite some time (2 years?). This is because I stopped developing zkanji. I wanted to continue by at least fixing some silly bugs still in there, but I kinda lost interest. It’s not because I don’t want it to have even more features or that I gave up or something. The main problem is the development environment and language it uses. Zkanji was developed in a RAD tool called C++ Builder. It (or at least it’s origin called Delphi) was revolutionary at the time. Unfortunately the interface felt more and more outdated, and the C++ it understands is a heavily modified one. I don’t know much about the latest version or whether it is still in development at all, but I’ve switched to developing in Visual Studio, which is so much more modern, and I feel more at home in it.

If you wish to take over the project (unlikely but who knows), contact me. If you want to start over by developing it from scratch in Visual Studio I might even help you. My only requirement is that you produce at least the same quality what zkanji originally was.

Categories: Notices
  1. Yuri
    April 8, 2015 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks a lot for your work! We really apreciate it! It would be great if there was an andriod/iOS version of zKanjii ^_^/

  2. Flynn
    April 17, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    Thank you for great software! I use it every day and can’t imagine my life without it. It would be sad for such an awesome project to die, so I hope that someone will take over the project (or you change your mind). I too use VS and I can code c++, but when I think about writing it from scratch, it would be an incredible amount of work (moreover I mostly code graphics so I have no idea about what to use to make GUI ( probably qt or wxWidgets? )).

    • April 17, 2015 at 5:20 pm

      If someone wanted to write it from scratch I would probably join, (only if they really did at least half the work), but yes, it’s a huge program to start over just like that. Reusing the original code is of course possible. If I had to choose I’d vote for qt, though I never tried it. All the other free libraries I know are so very far from producing a native windows program that this in itself would lower the quality a lot. Call me crazy but I think using the native windows API is also an option.

      • Flynn
        April 17, 2015 at 6:12 pm

        If you take care of the japanese specifics (my japanese is only N2), and writing recognition (I have no idea how you did it), then I give it a shot. Speaking of WinAPI I have nothing against it watsoever, but looking at how people asking about versions for another platforms… I can’t say the same about Qt, because it requires use of Qt Creator or some plugin for VS and I don’t like it much. I would prefer to use OpenGL and render the whole UI in it, but I’m not sure if it would be ok for such a project (who knows, maybe there is still hardware without opengl support). Though, if we go that route It would give us the most control over UI and consistent look everywere (and very distinct and beautiful one). I already have some code for rendering ui and text using opengl, so it’s the simplest choice for me =). We could disscuss the future of zkanji in some more convinient place if you interested.

  3. Flynn
    April 17, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    We actially can use software rendering for machines without hardware graphics acceleration. That’s not a problem. I wrote a simple software renderer for windows some time ago, it wasn’t hard and it was quite performant.

    • April 17, 2015 at 8:29 pm

      This idea actually sounds interesting. Do you think we could make a user friendly interface in OpenGL that looks nice too? While I don’t want zkanji to look and feel like a tablet app, it could do with a facelift. (I have nothing against tablet apps on tablets, but I’m picky when it comes to PC.) If you are serious about this please write me to my e-mail address. You can find it in the zkanji about box.

      • Flynn
        April 17, 2015 at 9:18 pm

        Modern software already uses custom rendering with hardware acceleration – internet browsers, for example.
        We can make it look native, if we want.
        I’ve sent you a mail.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

