Home > Uncategorized > Long break 2

Long break 2

UPDATE: I’m rewriting the program almost from scratch in VS2013. I can’t promise anything though as I might give up halfway. If anyone’s curious about the developing code I can share it on SF. I use c++11 features and the interface is currently using Qt though I do everything to make the interface separate from the code. I use Qt containers but most of them can be replaced with simple STL. I want it to compile under Linux as well as on Windows. In theory it might work on a newer Mac but I don’t have the tools to check.

I’ll write about my experiences with Qt on the weekend or next week.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jhack
    May 30, 2015 at 9:48 am

    Well, once you have got something to be compiled I might help you testing it on OSX. I am also a programmer and I have got a Mac Air 2013 with Lion installed, so I’d be happy to be useful for your trial.

    • May 31, 2015 at 6:14 pm

      Thanks, I’ll post about it in the blog. It’s still a few months away though.

  2. Ricardo
    May 30, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    Awesome news! I have always wanted to make a Qt port (I think I wrote you about this a few years ago), but never had the time.

    • May 31, 2015 at 6:19 pm

      I can relate to that. It’ll take a lot of time to implement everything that was written before just to reach the same level of functionality. And I still seem to remember a lot about the code! Although I spend most of the time figuring out Qt.

  3. June 2, 2015 at 4:22 am

    Awesome! I knew it’d be a good idea to keep subscribed to this blog. Despite not being updated in a while ZKanji is still my go-to Japanese dictionary for words and kanji on Windows.

  4. Niko
    June 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    Hey,
    sounds Awesome that you coding it also on VS!
    Is there any way that you can provide a .*txt File with just all the Kanjis and their Kana’s?
    Example: Kanji: 寿司 
    Written in Kana: すし

    I would really appreciate that, my C++ skills arent good enough to reproduce your load_dictionary function 😦

    Greetings!

    • June 26, 2015 at 5:15 pm

      I suggest you look into the KANJIDIC project. This is where I get most of the kanji information for zkanji too.
      http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/kanjidic.html

      There’s also kanjidic2 if you like xml better.

      • Niko
        June 30, 2015 at 4:37 pm

        Ah okey!
        Im still wondering how’d you buld the Kanji for Sushi as example.
        In the .XMl file are single Kanjis but if i write すし that are actually 2 Symbols of Kanjis.
        -> 寿司

        How have you done that?

    • June 30, 2015 at 7:04 pm

      You’ll need a dictionary for that. The reading of kanji has no direct relation to the reading of words. Check out JMDict.

      Anyway, this really is not a forum for your coding questions regarding Japanese software. Search engines are your friends.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

