Home > Plans > Plans. More about design decisions.

Plans. More about design decisions.

I tried to collect a few specifics about the design changes I have in mind. This is not a complete list and it’s more like a listing of stuff rather than a well thought out blog post.

  • Dictionary searches or the general features that can be accessed will stay, though might change a bit.
  • I plan to remove study statistics of study groups (not the long-term study).
  • I want to add some kind of “learned” status for words and kanji. For that I have to connect the stats of the long-term study and study groups, and the old stats are in the way.
  • I want to remove the “kanji card” button, and the custom definitions that you could set there. I think nobody used that feature and there was no point to it.
  • You’ll still be able to set custom definitions for words in the long-term study to make them easier to learn. The same definitions will be used in the simpler study groups.
  • There will be as many long-term study decks as you like.
  • If you finished studying for a day with long-term study, you’ll still be able to add more words and continue studying.
  • No more checkboxes for groups, as those didn’t do anything.
  • Everything will have its separate window to avoid the cluttered interface zkanji currently has, and I plan to make every dialog non-blocking.This is how zkanji started out originally but the windowing library in c++builder wasn’t really good for many main windows so I scrapped that idea. I hope it’ll work this time.
  • As almost everything is re-written from scratch, all the windows will be different and the context-menu might look very different too. It’s kinda hard to make a good looking interface in Qt, so the first version probably won’t look too good.

The list probably goes on. For example I wanted an example sentences browser but it won’t be in the initial version.

I have no idea what to show in the kanji information window and how. It’s a cosmetic feature in my opinion. I sometimes (though rarely) use the “part of” and “parts” panel on it, and ignore the rest. When I was a beginner in Japanese I thought those numbers and the kanji’s meaning are so important for my study, but now I think otherwise. Learning vocabulary (with the correct kanji) is so much more useful than kanji readings and such. I still plan to make such a window (mostly for the stroke order diagram), but the format how the data is presented will probably be very different.

If you find anything wrong with the plans, please comment about it.

Categories: Plans Tags: ,
  1. August 11, 2015 at 4:27 am

    As for the kanji information window (and in genearl), have you seen the IDS-GREP project? http://tsukurimashou.osdn.jp/idsgrep.php.en There is also a web version at http://fasiha.github.io/idsgrep-emscripten/

    I found it quite interesting in that it works with sensible radical decompositions that take position into consideration (left is A, right is B). If it’s not too difficult it might be a interesting and useful look-up feature as well. It’s a fair bit more nuanced than simple multi-radical lookup.

    Reading his research paper on it, it doesn’t seem to difficult to come up with a naive implementation, and his refinements likely aren’t really necessary in the usual cases of a person doing most real-world searches.

    • August 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm

      I have a similar lookup in the kanji stroke order designer in the old zkanji (you can only try it if you add debug=1 line in the zkanji ini file under [Debug].) I might include something similar. (Though this has nothing to do with the kanji info window.)

      • August 13, 2015 at 6:04 am

        Right it popped to mind to use the IDS decomposition as a possible replacement for the existing “parts” component of the kanji info window, and then it occured to mention that it was also proposed as a lookup tool.

        I’ll have to try the that kanji stroke order designer you’re mentioning, it sounds interesting. I had no idea there even was a debug section in the ini.

      • August 13, 2015 at 10:52 pm

        It’s only there if you add it manually.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

