Home > Rant > Rant about Qt

Rant about Qt

Whenever I touch Qt designer to design a new window I feel like I have to rant about it. So here is my rant: layouts in Qt are bad bad bad bad bad!

I think I’ll need to find other ways to vent my frustration.

UPDATE: I didn’t want to make just another blog post about this stupidity, that’s why I’m expanding this post instead. I’ll spend this day trying to make a window with things placed at specific locations. And it’ll take the whole day. Again. When it comes to Qt’s window layouts and widgets the usual (and only working) solution is to “write it yourself.” If it weren’t the only real option for making cross platform apps, I’d be too frustrated to use it any longer.

UPDATE2: It turns out what I could easily achieve in c++builder (or directly in winapi – done both) is impossible in Qt. I spent the whole day looking for a solution and it can’t be done. Now I’ll have to figure out a way how not to make the kanji handwriting recognizer window butt ugly.

Categories: Rant Tags: ,
  1. Alejandro
    August 17, 2015 at 6:11 am

    Sólyom Zoltán, about project hosting are you aware that sourceforge is injecting adware in the installers?

    Also, today has been published that sourceforge will be sold along with slashdot.

    Are you thinking on change project hosting? github or other?

    Me, studying japanese since 2011 with zkanji under wine on Mac and Linux, thanks a lot for your effort!!

    • August 17, 2015 at 1:30 pm

      Yes I heard about it but they are not doing it with zkanji (yet?). I’m not sure what to do about it.

      What do you mean by “other” beside github? What others are there?

      • Alejandro
        August 17, 2015 at 4:40 pm

        As far as I know they are not injecting adware on zkanji, at least in the .zip version, dunno about the installer..

        about *free* repositories: nowdays mostly everything is git, github and gitlab are the most common I know.

        If I were you I would not trust anymore on SF, specially now that they want to sell it. I guess it would be a good idea that you create an account on github and upload the exes + zip versions just in case SF evaporates..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

