Home > Uncategorized > Before the new year…

Before the new year…

It’s almost 2016 and no new zkanji yet. Sorry about that. Writing the program from scratch takes a lot more time than I originally thought. Also the quirks of Qt make it very very hard to work with the user interface. I think this alone doubles the development time.

There’s a positive side too of course. Most major features are now done, the last one I’m going to add is the word list printing. (There will be kanji printing too but only after the first release. First I want to make a version which can at least do what the previous ones could.)

After that I’ll start working on a more user friendly userΒ  interface. It’s mostly working around Qt, so it will take time unfortunately. I might make a test version soon if anyone’s interested, but there hadn’t been a huge interest in that in the past either. Requests if you want something like that.

To sum it all up, this means more waiting. And more work for me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Lawliet_91
    January 6, 2016 at 5:36 pm

    Mate you are my hero. I use this program every day from 2 and a half years now, when I started to learn japanese, and I’m taking the kanji kentei 5kyuu with confidence next month, with the help of your program. Keep it up please, cheers!

  2. Fujiri
    January 6, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    Wow, didn’t know you are reworking the program. I used to come here a lot in 2013 and after the long silence I stopped.
    I’m really glad my beloved program for learning Japanese is not forgotten. Same as Lawliet I use zkanji every day for more than 2 years (with some breaks which I regret).

    If you release the test version (if there’s more demand for it) I will surely try it.

    Thank you again for your hard work, I’m looking forward to the new version (even though I’m a bit afraid at the same time πŸ˜€ ).

  3. Merowik
    January 13, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    +1 , zkanji is one of diamond , tried tons of other similar software. I am myself prof developer with 17 year background, please keep your work, many guys will be appreciated !

  4. February 8, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    Take all the time you need. πŸ™‚

  5. Marcus
    February 9, 2016 at 9:48 am

    This program is awesome, no idea how it can be further improved but I’m looking forward to it! πŸ˜€

  6. February 11, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    I’m not sure whether the next version will be an improvement yet, because I started it all over. It’s good that some of you are afraid! πŸ˜€

    Jokes aside, I try my best to make it close in usability to the original. I can’t promise it’ll happen with the first release. I’ll try new things that might not work as I want them, but I thought, if the program has to be rewritten anyway, why not change how some things work? Yes I know people hate changes, I hate changes. We will see.

  7. March 2, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    Amazing that you’re working on zkanji again. I love it! Will I be able to export word lists to tab separated file in the new one? In the old one it’s only separated by spaces, so I have to manually make it into tabs.

  8. March 7, 2016 at 11:57 am

    Amazing software, I use it on a dayly basis I just wish I could search things like this too words that start with η”» but also words that contain η”» not just start, that would be an amazing feature to add. Finally the study thing, make it to work alone for levels, like n5 make the whole list so you can study from it and so that we dont have to actually create a “deck” on our own.
    Again thanks a lot πŸ™‚

    • March 7, 2016 at 12:33 pm

      You can already search words that contain kanji in the middle, just check the +? and ?+ buttons. The new version will allow it for kana too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

