WIP

Just posting here to say I’m still working on the new version. I didn’t spend as much time on it lately as I could have, but I’ve returned to it a few days ago. I thought that a library like Qt will take off the burden of working on the user interface, but I’m finding myself rewriting simple things like clicking inside a table and selecting multiple rows of words for example. (In case you were wondering why it takes so long, besides it’s being a complex project anyway.)

I’m also spending a lot of time thinking about how to change the old interface. Good design decisions can make a program easier to use… and bad ones can break it. People complained that the old interface was too complex and they couldn’t find anything, but I’m afraid of oversimplifying things. I have made significant changes though, but it’s possible these won’t work well.

For example in the new design, the user is able to open as many windows as they like. The windows only display a single feature (like dictionary only, or word groups only,) but can be docked into the main window anywhere. This has the side effect that resizing the main window resizes the docked interface elements equally. As opposed to the old interface, where the kanji list part (on the left) remained the same width. We will see whether this makes the program harder to use or not.

I wanted to post screenshots but I still don’t have icons for 99.9% of the buttons, and I don’t want to publish an interface design full of buttons of the wrong size and no clear role.

  1. Fujiri
    July 11, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re still working on zkanji’s new version. Don’t worry about time. As much as I’d like to try the new version asap I have so many RL issues that I understand you have them too.

    Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. July 22, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Take the time you need!
    keep it up 🙂

  3. July 27, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    thank you for your work (y) keep it up, and if you need beta tester I’ll be glad to help 🙂

  4. July 29, 2016 at 6:59 am

    Thank you very much! Keep up the good work!

  5. terryspanky
    August 30, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Your program is still the best. I keep using it everyday.

  6. August 31, 2016 at 5:54 am

    Concordo que também seja o melhor programa, já que utilizei muitos outros do gênero (inclusive comerciais). Quero aproveitar este comentário também para relatar um problema que não tenho certeza se é só comigo que está acontecendo. Quando eu faço a definição de um Kanji e fecho o programa, ela não está mais lá depois que abro de novo. Uma vez, sem perceber isso, passei o dia criando definições para centenas (centenas!) de caracteres para o português e, quando fui abrir o ZKanji no dia seguinte, desapareceu tudo. Percebo que desde de a versão 0.71 acontece isso. Se alguém puder me dar alguma pista do que pode ser ficarei agradecido. No geral gosto muito do ZKanji. Espero ansioso pela nova versão. Acesso esse blog todos os dias para saber de alguma novidade desde a primeira versão que foi publicada. Eu acho a interface gráfica do ZKanji bonita e funcional e que o programa atende totalmente às necessidade dos estudantes. A base de dados utilizada é espetacular e eu venho trabalhando em uma base de dados em português já há alguns anos. Uso todos os dias. Obrigado!

  7. September 1, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    Can you update the dictionary, because its too old

    • September 2, 2016 at 3:36 am

      The next version will have the latest dictionary, but it’s still going to take some time. I don’t plan updating the dictionary for the old version, because packaging and uploading is a lot of work.

      I’m using the old version too and there’s nothing wrong with it as far as I can tell.

  8. September 27, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks for continuing your work on this. My friend and I will patiently wait for the new version. I won’t be ready for it until sometime next year, as I am working on Kana and German currently.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

