Home > Progress report, Test releases > First steps for the next release

First steps for the next release

The short version: I’m still not done with the next release, but I have uploaded the source files to GitHub that are needed to compile and run the new zkanji. You can get it and try it right away on Windows IF you have Visual Studio 2013 or newer. It’s pretty easy to compile.

The long version: I spent a lot of time fixing errors and filling up holes in the program in the past many weeks, and it still contains bugs. There were several “game breaking” bugs I only discovered in the last moment. The last days were spent figuring out (again) how to release the program properly with an open source license. (I went for GPLv3.) It’s a complicated matter, especially since some files come from a different open source project with its own license.

Creating a release with the executable alone might be enough for those, who have the 2013 version of the Visual Studio redistributable, and the Qt DLLs, but this can’t be taken granted. I’ll need to include those too for everyone else, which means at least a primitive installer. I hope there’s some tool somewhere to make one quickly, because the free tool I used to create the installers for previous versions of zkanji, is everything but simple.

Because the Qt DLLs and the VS redistributable must be included, the file download will be at least 20 MB larger than previous ones were. On the other hand I won’t include the Japanese dictionary and example sentences data for now, which will save 20 MB. They can be obtained easily with the instructions I’ll include with the download. (I plan to include the data files in the final release.)

Before I forget, I still need to design a new icon for this version of zkanji. I could use the old one, but I want to make it clear in every design choice that it’s a new program. It was newly written after all. I will also need to add an about box to fulfill my obligations towards Qt and any other project which has a license that must be mentioned in the program. Then there’s the question of the name. I can keep it simply “zkanji,” but if I do that, I’m not sure what version number to use. It’s not a real continuation of the old version in the sense that they only share the same idea, but nothing of the program code.

  1. Fujiri
    July 17, 2017 at 2:32 pm

    Hi!

    Good to hear you are progressing. ❤
    Since I don't have VS nor have any compiling knowledge I will wait for the executable file.
    Till then keep up the great work 🙂

    Irena

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

