Home > Uncategorized > zkanji TEST v1

zkanji TEST v1

It took a while, sorry about that! I had to change some internal parts in the code since the last post, to make sure the program will compile in 64bit too. (The Windows version is still 32bit but this might change in the future. The Linux release will be 64bit from the start.) Figuring out what licenses must be mentioned and writing a readme took me a long time, and I can tell that I don’t enjoy that at all…

Instead of too much talk, let me present the first release! (In the future, you can visit this link for the latest versions as I upload them.) Before we start to celebrate, as it’s a first release, I can’t guarantee the quality of the software yet. It’s released for testing, so this stands to reason I guess.

Please add an issue to the issue tracker on the project page if you encounter a serious bug (program crashing, data getting corrupted etc.), but even if it’s just a small usability issue (for example windows not appearing where you want them to be, you see the wrong cursor or colors.)

There are some small new features not found in the original zkanji, but I’ll let everyone discover them first.

What’s missing: (I’ll only list the most important features)

  • No auto updater yet, so new versions must be downloaded manually for each release until it’s implemented.
  • Some settings have no effect. There’s a slider to increase the user interface size to 400%, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.
  • No kana practice. I’m not sure how well known feature this was, but it’s not present here. This is a planned feature too of course.
  • Missing statistics for the long-term study.

(And I already found a serious bug. The program sometimes crashes if you hover the mouse cursor over an example sentence.)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 26, 2017 at 6:36 pm

    😀
    Thank you!
    (I already had like 20 crash :P, I will report them later but I still wanted to thank you)

    • July 26, 2017 at 6:50 pm

      I’ll show no mercy for the crashes! With help the next version will be much more stable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

