Home > Progress report, Test releases > zkanji TEST 2

zkanji TEST 2

The titles of the posts will get boring for a while, until the first beta is out too. I have uploaded the next test version with a few visible fixes, and many others under the hood.  Go here to get it.

The new release lacks all data files and DLLs. You’ll need the first one too, and overwrite its executable with the new one. I plan to keep it this way for lighter downloads, until the first stable release.

The changes don’t look much, because I mainly work on the Linux version right now, but I have fixed the annoying crash with the example sentences. The Linux version is the same program, so working on it will help revealing general bugs that affect the Windows version as well.

Please open an Issue on GitHub, or mail me if you find bugs in zkanji. If you think that something important is much worse than in the old program (for example because shortcut keys are missing,) you can make a request about it. Otherwise I’ll keep working on the Linux release and do other things later.

  1. gyan000
    July 30, 2017 at 12:00 pm

    Nice work ! I did not think it was already usable…
    Compiled on Fedora 26 without having to update something. Used data files from Test 1 and it worked directly.
    I played a little with some functions – mainly with dictionary / kanjis search and I was not able to crash it. Soooo, I think it’s a good news because, finally, we will be able to have this great software natively on our linux desktop, without the need of wine and that… it’s really cool !
    Thanks a lot for all you work.

    (and yes, I’ll report issue if I encounters ones I can reproduce)

    • July 31, 2017 at 7:37 pm

      Thanks for checking! I’m currently hunting for little usability issues. The Linux version looks okay, and the problems I find affects both platforms.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

